Vicki L. Sato

Director at BorgWarner

Dr. Sato is an accomplished executive and scientist with an extensive background advising and leading companies in life sciences innovation. Dr. Sato served as Professor of Management Practice at Harvard Business School from 2006 until her retirement in 2017. At Harvard, she was Founding Faculty Chair of the Blavatnik Fellowship in Life Science Entrepreneurship program. From 1992 to 2005, she was with Vertex Pharmaceuticals, initially as Chief Scientific Officer and Chair of the scientific advisory board, and subsequently as President from 2000 to 2005. Prior to joining Vertex, she was with Biogen, Inc., from 1984 to 1992, concluding her tenure there as Vice President of Research and as a member of the scientific advisory board. Dr. Sato continues to serve as a business advisor to enterprises in the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industries. She is currently a director of Bristol Myers Squibb Company and Syros Pharmaceuticals, Inc. as well as Non-Executive Chair of Denali Therapeutics, Inc., all publicly-held companies. Previously, Dr. Sato served as a director of PerkinElmer from 2003 to 2017. In addition to her public board service, she is Chairman to privately held Vir Biotechnology, Inc. She was recently appointed co-chair of the Advisory Council of LifeSci: NYC, a public service group that advises New York City on matters of life science competitiveness. She is the author of numerous professional publications and received her AB, AM, and Ph.D. degrees from Harvard University. Dr. Sato’s previous roles as chief scientific officer and vice president of research for multi-national companies, as well as her academic work on science-driven entrepreneurship, allow her to offer guidance as we develop our technology initiatives and collaborative efforts. The expertise Dr. Sato has gained through her service on the boards of other public companies contributes broad understanding of corporate governance matters.
Related people
Carl Bass
Zhu Xiaodi
Hiromichi Mizuno
Beth Mooney
Joseph Jimenez
Eoghan McCabe
Bradley M. Halverson
Michael R. Cannon
Deborah D. McWhinney
Hideo Hara
Dirk Große-loheide
By clicking "Continue" or continuing to use our site, you acknowledge that you accept our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. We also use cookies to provide you with the best possible experience on our website.