National Geographic Society


The National Geographic Society is an impact-driven nonprofit. They identify and invest in a diverse, international community of changemakers—National Geographic Explorers—who use the power of science, exploration, education, and storytelling to illuminate and protect the wonder of our world.





Org chart

Jill Tiefenthaler
Chief Executive Officer

Jill Tiefenthaler

Michael Ulica
President and Chief Operating Officer
Alex Moen
Chief Explorer Engagement Officer
Crystal Brown
Chief Communications, Marketing & Brand Officer
Ian Miller
Chief Science and Innovation Officer
Kaitlin Yarnall
Chief Storytelling Officer
Kara Ramirez Mullins
Chief Advancement Officer
Kim Waldron
Chief of Staff
Mara Dell
Chief Human Resources Officer
Shannon P. Bartlett
Chief Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Officer
Sumeet Seam
Chief Legal Officer
Jason Southern
Chief Technology & Information Officer
Kristi Craig
Chief Investment Officer
Deborah R. Grayson
Chief Education Officer
Duncan Phillips
Deputy To The Chief Communications Marketing And Brand Officer And VP Strategic Communications
Latasha Murphy
Chief Of Staff Communications Division
Lisa Herzog
Deputy To The Chief Advancement Officer Campaign Director
Sharlene R.
Vice President Financial Planning Analysis
Alan Turchik
Director Of Product Development
Bruno Gabrielli
Director Of Product Management
Dave Ulloa
Sr Director Business Products
John Boyer
Senior Director Design Experiences
Kara Basabe
Design Director Engagement Marketing Strategy
Luke Miller
Director User Experience Design
Brian Murphy
Sr Director Constituent Products
Lisa Lytton
Vice President Storytellers Collective
Mitchell Sava
Vice President Of Edulab